June 2014 – Middle school students from Avon, Berlin, Bloomfield, Bristol, Broad Brook, Burlington, Canton, East Granby, East Hartford, Enfield, Farmington, Glastonbury, Granby, Hartford, Manchester, Newington, Plainville, Plantsville, Rocky Hill, Simsbury, South Windsor, Southington, Suffield, West Hartford, Wethersfield, Windsor and Windsor Locks were recognized as the state’s top Scholar Leaders at the 2014 Connecticut Association of Schools (CAS) Scholar Leader Banquet sponsored by the Connecticut and Western Massachusetts McDonald’s Owner/Operator Association.   As part of its long standing commitment to supporting educational programs, McDonald’s owner/operators joined CAS to honor the following local students as the best of the best in the state at the banquet:


- Madeleine Menendez and Christopher Arciero, Avon Middle School, Avon

- Jacqueline Cooper and James Wicander, Catherine M. McGee Middle School, Berlin

- Elicia Colon and Luke McLean, Carmen Arace Intermediate School, Bloomfield

- Monique Anderson and Logan Colon, Carmen Arace Middle School, Bloomfield

- I’deara Gordon and Jacob Nelson, Chippens Hill Middle School, Bristol

- Morgan Santos and Leo Juarez, Greene-Hills School, Bristol

- Alexandra McMahon and Nicholas Jones, Northeast Middle School, Bristol

- Sydney Pina and Desmond Christian DeVille, West Bristol School, Bristol

- Gabriele Bagdonas and Timothy McGough, Har-Bur Middle School, Burlington

- Elizabeth Walburger and Drew Bidmead, Canton Middle School, Canton

- Isabella Attianese and Norman Cotteleer, East Granby Middle School, East Granby

- Tyfany Fabian and Thomas Maragnano, East Hartford Middle School, East Hartford

- Arianna Patterson and Steven Nguyen, Two Rivers Magnet Middle School, East Hartford

- Rashmi Rajesh and Christopher DiLullo, Irving Robbins Middle School, Farmington

- Paige Lee and Abhishek Malani, Smith Middle School, Glastonbury

- Madeline Attianese and John Bayersdorfer, Granby Memorial Middle School, Granby

- Christina Rivera and Joel Oyola, Burns Latino Studies Academy, Hartford

- Sophia Nelson and Jordan Jones, Classical Magnet Middle School, Hartford

- J`zeida Ortega and Roamy Camilo, Environmental Sciences Magnet School, Hartford

- Alexxus Imani-Hales and Kevin Lindstrom, Hartford Magnet Trinity College Academy, Hartford

- Taylor Keyt and Joseph Pearl, Illing Middle School, Manchester

- Monica Sadil and Syed Asar, John Wallace Middle School, Newington

- Yasmin Rincon and Khang Nguyen, Martin Kellogg Middle School, Newington

- Madison Peck and Jacob Hillburn, Middle School of Plainville, Plainville

- Isabella Duarte and Robert Vose, John F. Kennedy Middle School, Plantsville

- Emily Zarrilli and Gino Giansanti, Albert D. Griswold Middle School, Rocky Hill

- Keara Dennehy and Nicholas Hayes, Henry James Memorial School, Simsbury

- Hannah Leibowitz and Connor Gerrity, Timothy Edwards Middle School, South Windsor

- Carolyn Callahan and Evan Bender, J.A. DePaolo Middle School, Southington

- Chloe Becquey and Spencer Perry, John F. Kennedy Middle School, Southington

- Alexandra Rookey and Joseph Rossi, Suffield Middle School, Suffield

- Maya Flores and Michael Schneider, Bristow Middle School, West Hartford

- Kyra Bukowski and Patrick Daly, King Philip Middle School, West Hartford

- Anna Baker and Jack Moore, Sedgwick Middle School, West Hartford

- Julia Feliciano and Alex Kanya, Silas Deane Middle School, Wethersfield

- Sharon Spaulding and Alex Rosario, Sage Park Middle School, Windsor

- Emily Malecki and Alexander Parboo, Windsor Locks Middle School, Windsor Locks


“McDonald’s is proud to partner with CAS to congratulate and honor Connecticut’s top middle school students. We are pleased to recognize these scholar-leaders for their outstanding achievements inside the classroom and within their local communities,” said Rachel Deane, a local McDonald’s owner/operator and president of the Connecticut and Western Massachusetts McDonald’s Owner/Operator Association.


The Connecticut Scholar Leader Awards is the largest program of its type in the state. The award is presented to one male and one female student in each middle school whose record of academic achievement and service have been truly exemplary, whose personal standards and accomplishments are a model for others and who possess high levels of integrity, self discipline, honesty and courage.


About McDonald's

The Connecticut and Western Massachusetts McDonald’s Owner/Operator Association is comprised of local McDonald’s restaurant owners who are community and industry leaders. They have a long-standing commitment to supporting educational initiatives and organizations in the communities they serve, including providing resources to promote balanced, active lifestyles to kids and nutritional information for families. For more information, follow us on Facebook or Twitter @McD_CTWMA.


McDonald's USA, LLC, serves a variety of menu options made with quality ingredients to more than 27 million customers every day. Nearly 90 percent of McDonald's 14,000 U.S. restaurants are independently owned and operated by businessmen and women. Customers can now log online for free at approximately 11,500 participating Wi-Fi enabled McDonald's U.S. restaurants. For more information, visit www.mcdonalds.com, or follow us on Twitter @McDonalds and Facebook www.facebook.com/mcdonalds.


More »
Got a question? Something on your mind? Talk to your community, directly.
Note Article
Just a short thought to get the word out quickly about anything in your neighborhood.
Share something with your neighbors.What's on your mind?What's on your mind?Make an announcement, speak your mind, or sell somethingPost something
See more »